Welcome to the virtual roda. As in a real roda the games are controlled by the soul of capoeira - listen to the music, and play that kind of game. If you have any complaints about material on this forum please contact Brabo at [email protected].

Topics | Search | New topic

Topic: The Encounter
  Curious1
  2007-01-24 16:49:02
I am new to Capoeira and I love it so far even though I feel like it's going to take ages until I am comfortable enough with the movements to feel like I am threat to anyone, or able to move in the beautiful way others do.
But I'm going to stick at it!
So is it really worth my while going to the encounter?
Would it be better if I waited until the next Encounter when I would have a better grasp of Capoeira?
  Narizinho
  2007-01-24 17:00:11
Curious1! Yes you should Definitely go to this Encounter 07, it is a fantastic opportunity for you to experience, communicate and train with 3 Awesome Mestres/Masters of Capoeira, experienced students from all-over new Zealand and the world and ask any 'random' questions you may have over the 4 days. It is so worth it you'll be kicking yourself if you wait!

Cool, details of the camp and expenses will be posted on this site in a few days.

Rastinha
  2007-01-25 04:32:14
Go. By all means, Go. Going to my first encounter was what changed capoeira from being a random new hobby I was trying out to a way of life for me. You get the complete capoeira experience with the benefit of Mestres, for sure, but also, and in some ways more importantly, you get exposure to so many different types of people/playing styles that you can't NOT learn heaps and gain a better grasp of capoeira. Also, you get to experience first hand the awesome ax� and camaraderie that exists within the Capoeira Pasifika community, which you can't really describe to someone, and can't be experienced any other way.

In summary, there's a reason why Easter weekend is booked for most of us for as long as these events are going on: