Welcome to the virtual roda. As in a real roda the games are controlled by the soul of capoeira - listen to the music, and play that kind of game. If you have any complaints about material on this forum please contact Brabo at [email protected].

Topics | Search | New topic

Topic: Amarrando o berimbau...
  Galen
  2008-09-05 15:58:54

... is pretty tough. If it hadn't been pointed out to me early on that the berimbau is training *me* by resisting so much, I'd have punched a wall by now.

In other news, I've been teaching myself Portuguese for the past few weeks, and if anyone would help me practice on here, that'd be sweet.

Or, if anyone wants to train with me, muito melhor! I won't hold my breath, though. Hamilton's capoeira community seems to be pretty small right now, aside from Ra's class.

Tamb�m, eu estou novo aqui, Ol�!

Galen
  2008-09-07 11:09:38

Nossa, two days and no response. Guess these forums aren't frequented so often? Ah well.

At least I have my arrogant berimbau to help me train?
  not a spam robot
  2008-09-09 00:09:02
It not you, bro; it's those spam robots on the forum that drove everyone away. The berimbau is a hard but fair friend.
  Galen
  2008-09-09 10:57:36
Yeah, by the looks of it this forum could use a register-to-post system pretty bad.
  Itchy
  2008-09-09 20:16:49
See if you get soem old capoeira music like bimba, traira, the stuff with the raw funk and play heaps of sao bento grande de angola, if played properly it's acutally quite a dynamic instrument, it depends on how it is played and what it is accompanied with.
  Galen
  2008-09-09 20:55:14
Ah yeah, I got plenty of songs I'm itching to learn, and I would be practicing every day for hours if I was able to.

The problem is that I can't string it up just right yet. I can't get enough tension in it. Well, I can, but whenever I wrap around the arame the first time I lose just enough of it to ruin the sound.