Welcome to the virtual roda. As in a real roda the games are controlled by the soul of capoeira - listen to the music, and play that kind of game. If you have any complaints about material on this forum please contact Brabo at [email protected].

Topics | Search | New topic

Topic: Starting age for kids
  MickeySchultz
  2008-09-28 17:59:53
what would be a good age for a child to start. My wee girl is crazy about dance and I think she would love Capoeira.
I note there are kids classes in wellington. What age range are the participants in the kids classes normally?
  Galen
  2008-09-30 11:13:39
Oi l�!

I'm not the most qualified to answer your questions seeing as I'm a novice myself, but I'll give my opinion.

Capoeira certainly has dancing *aspects* (timing, music, balance, acrobatics, etc.), but I think it's important to remember that it is first and foremost a *martial art*. That is, if your daughter is interested in purely dance it may not be right for her. She would have to enjoy the fighting aspect just as much as the dance aspect to really experience capoeira.

If you think she's the type to enjoy capoeira for all of it's aspects, then I don't think there's a real age limit to start her at. Starting young is always much more efficient when learning, well, anything... It takes awhile before you start getting anywhere, so patience is paramount, but once it clicks you seem to begin progressing quickly.

I'm not from Wellington so I can't answer your last question.

But yeah, start her up early and by the time she's my age (18) she'll be a force to be reckoned with!

Boa tarde!
  not a fighter
  2008-09-30 12:32:39
"... it's important to remember that it is first and foremost a *martial art* ..."

I disagree with Galen on this one. I have been practicing Capoeira for many years now and I believe that it is first and foremost NOT a *martial art*. Pastinha famously said that Capoeira is all that what the mouth eats.